top of page


Celebrating a yearly tradition, the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl Luncheon takes place on the day before the game, Friday, December 15th. Team spirit and college football pageantry will be on full display as both university bands perform, head coaches speak, and 2023 keynote speaker Avery Johnson addresses student athletes and attendees. Help us celebrate the college football and the Bowl Season alongside participating teams.

2023 Keynote Speaker Avery Johnson

Screen Shot 2023-11-14 at 1.35.21 PM.png

Avery Johnson is a former NBA basketball player, NBA coach, and NCAA Men’s basketball coach. A New Orleans native, Mr. Johnson signed with the Seattle Supersonics in 1988 and went on to play a sixteen-season career with the NBA. Known as “The Little General” for his on-court leadership and diminutive stature, Mr. Johnson played with seven different teams, most notably helping guide the San Antonio Spurs to their 1999 NBA Championship.

Mr. Johnson’s coaching career began in 2004, when he transitioned from player to assistant coach for the Dallas Mavericks. The following year, he took over as head coach and led the Mavericks to the team’s first ever Western Conference Championship and was later named NBA Coach of the Year. In 2010, Mr. Johnson became head coach to a struggling New Jersey Nets team where he emphasized discipline, attitude, and collaboration to lead the team on a remarkable turnaround. As a result, he was named the Eastern Conference Coach of the Month for October and November 2012. From 2015 – 2019, he was invited to join the University of Alabama’s athletic department as the new head men’s basketball coach where he guided the Crimson Tide to the 2018 NCAA tournament. During this time, Mr. Johnson also worked as a broadcast analyst for ESPN & CBS Sports, where he continues to be featured to this day.

Prior Keynote Speakers
NOB 22_0757.JPG

2022 - Demario Davis

2017 - Darren Woodson

Ryan Clark.jpg

2019 - Ryan Clark

2016 - Steve Gleason

Charlie Ward Luncheon.jpg

2018 - Charlie Ward

2015 - Tim Brown

2014 - Merril Hoge

2013 - Avery Johnson

bottom of page